Uber's 5min and iOS 11

Sep 12, 2017 4:26:52 AM / by Himanshu Dwivedi posted in Mobile App Security, privacy, Apple

In the fall of 2016, Uber inserted a feature in its mobile apps allowing the company to track user location approximately 5 minutes after a recent trip had ended.  The feature came with a whirlwind of controversy, as many riders felt it was an invasion of their privacy, especially since the 5 minutes after an Uber trip would probably pinpoint the exact location of a person’s home, office, or some other private location. While Uber may have had good intentions, the company did not share the benefits of the feature with the general public, nor did they disclose the feature itself (it was made public by 3rd party sources outside of Uber). This feature, among several other things, hurt Uber’s image as it pertains to end-user privacy.



Read More